• Facebook Social Icon

ABOUT COX ACADEMY

Cox Academy: Empowering every student to go out and change the world!

Cox Academy is a charter school that is authorized by the Alameda County Office of Education. Located in the Elmhurst neighborhood of East Oakland, Cox serves grades PreK-5 and provides rigorous instruction in the core content areas while fostering critical thinking, problem solving and application of learning to prepare students for success in higher education. Cox is committed to creating student leaders who are stewards of the greater community. Cox focuses on the whole child by providing a comprehensive system of tiered supports and interventions for children and families. Unlike many schools that solely focus on students’ academic success in mathematics and language arts, Cox Academy’s goal is to equip students with tools and strategies that ensure that students become 21st century thinkers and lifelong learners.

 

Students at Cox Academy benefit from a robust academic program in their classroom(s), which is enhanced four special classes students attend each week: hands on science, art, PE, and leadership (MAPS).  In 3rd-5th grade, classes are departmentalized, which means students have two core content teachers, one teacher for English Language Arts and another teacher for Math.  Complementing our focus on high academic standards is our belief that our students are, and will be, leaders in their schools, in their communities, and in the world. To accomplish this, we place an emphasis on developing student agency, self efficacy, stewardship, and social-emotional learning. We personalize instruction using technology and students access and apply learning using a number of different technologies. Cox does this work in close collaboration and partnership with parents and community partners. At Cox Academy, we prepare our students for success in school and success in life!

Address: 9860 Sunnyside Street, Oakland, CA 94603

 

Phone Number: 510-904-6300

 

Principal: David Norris, dnorris@efcps.net

Assistant Principal: Heather Thompson, hthompson@efcps.net

Assistant Principal: Courtney Morales Rosen, crosen@efcps.net

Site Operations Manager: Sophia Ramirez, sramirez@efcps.net

 

Junior Office Manager: Mireya Reyes, mreyes@efcps.net

Family Coordinator: Cristina Jaramillo, cjaramillo@efcps.net

Dean of Students: Josie Williams, jowilliams@efcps.net

Contact Us

Phone Number:

510-904-6300

Fax Number:

510-904-6329

9860 Sunnyside Street, Oakland, CA 94603

© Copyright 2023 by Elementary school. Proudly created with Wix.com